Atlas mountains of Morocco look like Middle Earth

Discuss Tolkien's masterpieces within the walls of this forum.

Atlas mountains of Morocco look like Middle Earth

Postby MoroccoTheory » Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:31 pm

This theory places Middle Earth in northwest Africa (present day Morocco and the Atlas Mountains) in pre-Phoenician times. I need an Ice Age Spain to get it to work, and I think Phoenicia missed the Ice Age.

Using GoogleEarth, I studied Morocco and was able to trace a route from the northeast to southwest that closely follows the storyline of Tolkien's books.

Here are the important locations.

Rivendell is located somewhere in Tazekka National Park (most likely near the lake named Barrage Bab Louta).

The Shire is about 100km to the northwest. Look at the area between the town of Taounate and the river just south of that town. You can even see the Buckland bulge on the opposite bank of the bend in the river.

A straight route from Rivendell through the Shire points to the Gray Havens at the Straight of Gibraltar. This puts Numenor in the Azores (or possibly further south).

Moria is located quite a distance south in Toubkal National Park. Enter from the lake named Barrage Ouirgane, then journey through the mines 15-20 miles to the exit at the lake named Lac d'ifni. This places the bridge of khazadum somewhere under Jebl Toubkal (elevation 4167 meters) in the High Atlas Mountains.

Following the water downhill from Lac d'ifni you pass through Lorien on your way to the falls where the breaking of the fellowship takes place. The falls (now a dam) are at the western end of the lake named Barrage Aoulouz.

Frodo and Sam head south beneath the river toward Mordor which is in the Anti-Atlas range centered on the modern town of Tafraout.

The others head west above the river through Rohan, past Isengard (location uncertain), and eventually reach Minas Tirith located near the modern town of Agadir.