Fanfic help?

Writing is a passion many people experience after reading Tolkien's works. Come here to discuss and share your experiences with writing.

Fanfic help?

Postby ~*Enaira_of_Imladris*~ » Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:20 pm

Hey.
*Sorry to the people who are ACTUALLY reading my fanfic, but I am stuck.*
This is my first time trying to write fanfics, let alone the ending to a series someone else started.

I'm want to write a new series with the same characters, once I've finished this current series. And I want the main character (Arvariane Estel) and Aragorn Estel to be related in some way. But I can't seem to find a way to connect them without messing up Aragorn's race and lineage, because Arvariane is an Elf. And her mother died at childbirth. So I dont see how I can relate the two without tinkering with Tolkien's ideas (which I wanted to mostly stick to) and without screwing up my own story. :pull:

Any suggestions? :? They would be helpful. Thanks!!
~*Enaira_of_Imladris*~
Citizen of Imladris

Location: Across the meadow, over the river, and through the woods

Postby WithyWyrm » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:58 am

Er... This Aragorn Estel is the future King of Gondor we all know and love, correct? Who is this Arvariane exactly? Is it important how they're related? It's hard to make any suggestions without knowing a little more about the plot.

She could be kin to Elrond (and therefore related very distantly to Aragorn as well as closely 'adoptively' and matrimonially speaking) either by marriage (to his sons) or by blood. Hmm...does Elrond have any extra elven relatives? I can't remember. What about his wife's family?

That wasn't much help, but I'm afraid I haven't read your stories. Best of luck!

~WW
WithyWyrm
Shield Bearer

Postby ~*Enaira_of_Imladris*~ » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:33 pm

Ok. Sorry I was very vague.
This Arvariane person was written as Glorfindel's daughter by the first author. And she wanted for Aragorn and Arvariane to be related somehow.