The Lord Of The Rings - Norse Mythology

What do you think of Tolkien on the silver screen...? Whether Bakshi, Jackson, or whoever else, come on in and discuss your reflections, opinions, and memories...

The Lord Of The Rings - Norse Mythology

Postby OlaO » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:36 am

Hei!

I'm a student from Norway and I'm writing an essay on The Lord of The Rings. I'm wondering if some of the characters in the books/movies can me compared diractly to persons in Norse Mythologi?
If not, what do you think about it? Which characthers in "The Lord Of The Rings" do you mean can be compered to Norse Mythologi?

Best regards
Ola Skjørli Oterhals
OlaO
Petitioner to the Council

Re: The Lord Of The Rings - Norse Mythology

Postby Gandalf'sMother » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:23 am

OlaO wrote:Hei!

I'm a student from Norway and I'm writing an essay on The Lord of The Rings. I'm wondering if some of the characters in the books/movies can me compared diractly to persons in Norse Mythologi?
If not, what do you think about it? Which characthers in "The Lord Of The Rings" do you mean can be compered to Norse Mythologi?

Best regards
Ola Skjørli Oterhals

Just very quickly:

Dwarves: Many of whom have names that come straight from Snorri's Poetic and Prose Eddas.
Gandalf: Can be quite easily compared to Odin, or as a character in the Odinic mold.

-GM
Gandalf'sMother
Ringbearer

Postby Gungnir » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:54 am

"Gandalf" is also the name of a dwarf in the volsungsaga
Gungnir
Mariner

Postby Roccondil » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:40 pm

There are characteristics of Odin not only in Gandalf (and his horse, since Shadowfax = Sleipnir), but also in Saruman with his carrion birds and Sauron with his single eye.
Roccondil
Rider of the Mark

Postby Gandalf'sMother » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:15 am

Roccondil wrote:There are characteristics of Odin not only in Gandalf (and his horse, since Shadowfax = Sleipnir), but also in Saruman with his carrion birds and Sauron with his single eye.